Sophocles (Greek: Σοφοκλῆς; c. 497/6 – winter 406/5 BC) is one of three ancient Greek tragedians whose plays have survived. His first plays were written later than or contemporary with those of Aeschylus, and earlier than or contemporary with those of Euripides. Sophocles wrote over 120 plays during the course of his life, but only seven have survived in a complete form:

• Αἴας (Ajax)
• Ἀντιγόνη (Antigone)
• Τραχίνιαι (Women of Trachis)
• Οἰδίπους Τύραννος (Oedipus Rex)
• Ἠλέκτρα (Electra)
• Φιλοκτήτης (Philoctetes)
• Οἰδίπους ἐπὶ Κολωνῷ (Oedipus at Colonus)


Login or Register to post a comment