Dune is a science fiction series and media franchise that originated with the 1965 novel Dune by Frank Herbert. Herbert wrote five sequels, and the first two were presented as a miniseries in 2003. The Dune universe has also inspired some traditional games and a series of video games. Frank Herbert died in 1986. Beginning in 1999, his son Brian Herbert and science fiction author Kevin J. Anderson published a number of prequel novels, as well as two which complete the original Dune series (Hunters of Dune in 2006 and Sandworms of Dune in 2007), partially based on Frank Herbert's notes discovered a decade after his death.

Original series by Frank Herbert:
Dune (1965)
Dune Messiah (1969)
Children of Dune (1976)
God Emperor of Dune (1981)
Heretics of Dune (1984)
Chapterhouse: Dune (1985)

Companion book:
• The Road to Dune - a collection of science fiction works and related material by Frank Herbert, Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson

Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson prequel books:

Prelude to Dune:
Dune: House Atreides (1999)
Dune: House Harkonnen (2000)
Dune: House Corrino (2001)

Legends of Dune:
Dune: The Butlerian Jihad (2002)
Dune: The Machine Crusade (2003)
Dune: The Battle of Corrin (2004)

Heroes of Dune:
Paul of Dune (2008)
The Winds of Dune (2009)

Great Schools of Dune:
Sisterhood of Dune (2012)
Mentats of Dune (2014)
Navigators of Dune (2016)


Login or Register to post a comment