Horatio Hornblower

Horatio Hornblower is a series of novels and short stories written by C. S. Forester, featuring the Royal Navy officer Horatio Hornblower, during the Napoleonic Wars. The titles are:

The Happy Return (UK) / Beat to Quarters (USA) (1937)
A Ship of the Line (1938)
Flying Colours (1938)
The Commodore (UK) / Commodore Hornblower (USA) (1945)
Lord Hornblower (1946)
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (1950)
Lieutenant Hornblower (1952)
Hornblower and the Atropos (1953)
Hornblower in the West Indies (UK) / Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies (USA) (1958)
Hornblower and the Hotspur (1962)
Hornblower and the Crisis (UK) / Hornblower During the Crisis (USA) (1967) - an unfinished novel published posthumously

Short stories:
• "Hornblower and His Majesty" (published in the Argosy (UK) magazine, March 1941)
• "Hornblower and the Hand of Destiny" (published in the Argosy (UK) magazine, April 1941)
• "Hornblower's Charitable Offering" (published in the Argosy (UK) magazine, May 1941)
• "Hornblower’s Temptation" (published in The Saturday Evening Post (USA), December 9, 1950, and then in the Argosy (UK) magazine as "Hornblower and the Big Decision", April 1951. In 1967, after the author's death, it was published together with the unfinished novel Hornblower and the Crisis and another short story, "The Last Encounter" as "Hornblower and the Widow McCool".)
• "The Last Encounter"(published posthumously in the Argosy (USA) magazine, 1967, and also in the unfinished novel Hornblower and the Crisis, 1967)

Companion book:
• The Hornblower Companion (1964. Supplementary book comprising another short story, "The Point and the Edge" only as an outline, "The Hornblower Atlas," and "Some Personal Notes")


Login or Register to post a comment