Hercule Poirot

Fictional Belgian detective from a series of mysteries by Agatha Christie. Poirot is one of Christie's most famous and long-lived characters, appearing in 33 novels, one play, and more than 50 short stories published between 1920 and 1975.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920)
The Murder on the Links (1923)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926)
The Big Four (1927)
The Mystery of the Blue Train (1928)
Peril at End House (1932)
Lord Edgware Dies (UK) / Thirteen at Dinner (USA) (1933)
Murder on the Orient Express (UK) / Murder in the Calais Coach (USA) (1934)
Three Act Tragedy (UK) / Murder in Three Acts (USA (1935)
Death in the Clouds (UK) / Death in the Air (USA) (1935)
The ABC Murders (1936)
Murder in Mesopotamia (1936)
Cards on the Table (1936)
Dumb Witness (UK) / Poirot Loses a Client (USA) (1937)
Death on the Nile (1937)
Appointment with Death (1938)
Hercule Poirot's Christmas (UK) / Murder for Christmas (USA, some later editions were titled A Holiday for Murder) (1938)
Sad Cypress (1940)
One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (UK) / Overdose of Death (USA, the paperback edition was titled The Patriotic Murders) (1940)
Evil Under the Sun (1941)
Five Little Pigs (UK) / Murder in Retrospect (USA) (1942)
The Hollow (UK) / Murder after Hours (USA) (1946)
Taken at the Flood (UK) / There Is a Tide (USA) (1948)
Mrs McGinty's Dead (UK) / Blood Will Tell (USA) (1952)
After the Funeral (UK) / Funerals are Fatal (USA) (1953)
Hickory Dickory Dock (UK) / Hickory Dickory Death (USA) (1955)
Dead Man's Folly (1956)
Cat Among the Pigeons (1959)
The Clocks (1963)
Third Girl (1966)
Hallowe'en Party (1969)
Elephants Can Remember (1972)
Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (written about 1940, published 1975)

• Black Coffee (1930 play - novel adapted by Charles Osborne from the play published in 1998)

Short story collections:
Poirot Investigates (1924)
The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories (1939)
Murder in the Mews (UK) / Dead Man's Mirror (USA) (1937)
The Labours of Hercules (1947)
The Under Dog and Other Stories (1951)
The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding and a Selection of Entrées (1960)
Double Sin and Other Stories (1961)
Poirot's Early Cases (1974)
Problem at Pollensa Bay and Other Stories (1991)
The Harlequin Tea Set and Other Stories (1997)
While the Light Lasts (1997)

Continuations not by Christie:
The Monogram Murders, written by Sophie Hannah (2014)
Closed Casket, written by Sophie Hannah (2016)
The Mystery of Three Quarters, written by Sophie Hannah (2018)


Login or Register to post a comment