Miss Marple

Jane Marple, usually known as Miss Marple, is a fictional character created by Agatha Christie. Miss Marple is an elderly spinster who acts as an amateur detective, and lives in the village of St. Mary Mead.

Novels featuring Miss Marple:
The Murder at the Vicarage (1930)
The Body in the Library (1942)
The Moving Finger (1943)
A Murder is Announced (1950)
They Do It with Mirrors (UK) / Murder with Mirrors (USA) (1952)
A Pocket Full of Rye (1953)
4.50 from Paddington (UK) / What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw! (USA) (1957)
The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side (UK) / The Mirror Crack'd (USA) (1962)
A Caribbean Mystery (1964)
At Bertram's Hotel (1965)
Nemesis (1971)
Sleeping Murder: Miss Marple's Last Case (written around 1940, published 1976)

Miss Marple short story collections
The Thirteen Problems (1932 short story collection featuring Miss Marple, also published as The Tuesday Club Murders)
Miss Marple's Final Cases and Two Other Stories (short stories collected posthumously, also published as Miss Marple's Final Cases, but only six of the eight stories actually feature Miss Marple) (written between 1939 and 1954, published 1979)
• Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories, published 1985, includes 20 from 4 sets: The Thirteen Problems, The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories (1939), Three Blind Mice and Other Stories (1950), and Double Sin and Other Stories (1961).

Miss Marple also appears in:
• "Greenshaw's Folly", a short story traditionally included as part of the Poirot collection The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding and a Selection of Entrées (1960).
• Four stories in the Three Blind Mice and Other Stories (1950) feature Miss Marple: "Strange Jest", "Tape-Measure Murder", "The Case of the Caretaker", and "The Case of the Perfect Maid".
• The Autograph edition of Miss Marple's Final Cases (aka Miss Marple's Final Cases and Two Other Stories) includes the eight in the original plus "Greenshaw's Folly".


Login or Register to post a comment