La Comédie humaine

La Comédie humaine (The Human Comedy) is the title of Honoré de Balzac's multi-volume collection of interlinked novels and stories depicting French society in the period of the Restoration (1815-1830) and the July Monarchy (1830–1848).

The Comédie humaine consists of 91 finished works (stories, novels or analytical essays) and 46 unfinished works (some of which exist only as titles). It does not include Balzac's five theatrical plays or his collection of humorous tales, the "Contes drolatiques" (1832–37).

The structure of La Comédie humaine is as follows:

Études de mœurs:
- Scènes de la vie de campagne
- Scènes de la vie militaire
- Scènes de la vie parisienne
- Scènes de la vie politique
- Scènes de la vie privée
- Scènes de la vie de province

Études philosophiques

Études analytiques


Login or Register to post a comment