It's really sad to see the site closing. As metioned in the other thread, I don't see why handing it over to the community and keep it running is impossible and I think it is something we should think and ask the discogs-team about. We did a great job even in the past months without any staff active.

But at the moment, I guess it will be the end. I still have all my scans of the items and still I'm willing to find a place to track my collection of books and magazines (and movies). So I wonder where you'll go next or if you stop managing your collection.

Some years ago, I had listed my book-collection on lovelybooks. But there was no way to contribute directly. You need to get a certain status to be able to do. This was annoying. I have no experience with other sites so far.

My movies I tracked using ofdb in former times. It is a pretty good database for german users as it has almost every DVD or BluRay release. But again the way to contribute is annoying. I once added a DVD, but I was not taking the durations from the player but from the cover. The complete submission was rejected.

Adding to discogs, bookogs, and filmogs was always fun, because it is a step by step procedure and the whole community helps to complete the data.

What do you plan to do?

I'm working on a personal and local solution for this.

I seek for a way to
a) keep track of my collection thru the UNIX-command line (because i do most computer stuff this way and find it most pleasent)
b) link with BibTex data for citations in scientific work
c) get known with database stuff and implement the Bookogs JSON

My computer skills are limited, though.
If i ever have any success i will let people know :)

45worlds/45cat/45spaces is a user community based media collection website: https://www.45worlds.com

It's goes wider than the *ogs sites because you can catalog more types of items, but it's not nearly as deep.