C. S. Forester

Hornblower in the West Indies


Main Details
C. S. Forester
1958-08-28 First published
Publication Location USA
Language English
Notes Hornblower in the West Indies (USA title: Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies) is one of the novels in the series that C. S. Forester wrote about fictional Royal Navy officer Horatio Hornblower.

All the other novels in the series take place during the wars with revolutionary and Napoleonic France; this one, however, takes place when Britain is at peace, May 1821 – October 1823. Hornblower has been promoted rear-admiral and has been named in command of the West Indies station (i.e., the Caribbean) with a squadron consisting of three frigates and fourteen brigs and schooners. It is the last Hornblower novel chronologically, although at least one short story ("The Last Encounter") is set after the events in this novel.

Prior to book form the story was serialized in the USA in The Saturday Evening Post, May 11, 1957 – April 26, 1958, and in the UK in Argosy (UK), 25 May 1957 – 13 September 1958.


Login or Register to post a comment