François Rabelais

Le Quart Livre


Main Details
François Rabelais
1552 First published
Publication Location France
Language Classical French
Notes Le Quart Livre (Full title: Le quart livre des faicts et dicts héroïques du bon Pantagruel) (English: The Fourth Book of Pantagruel; Full English Title: The Fourth Book of the Heroic Deeds and Sayings of Good Pantagruel) is the fourth book in the pentalogy of novels written by François Rabelais, published 1552 under the pen name "Alcofribas Nasier", an anagram of François Rabelais. The pentalogy is collectively known as The Life of Gargantua and of Pantagruel (French: La vie de Gargantua et de Pantagruel).

The story tells of the adventures of two giants, Gargantua and his son Pantagruel. The text is written in an amusing, extravagant, and satirical vein, and features much crudity, scatological humor, and violence (lists of explicit or vulgar insults fill several chapters).


Login or Register to post a comment