C. S. Forester

Hornblower and the Crisis


Main Details
C. S. Forester
1967-06-04 First published
Publication Location UK
Language English
Notes Hornblower and the Crisis (USA title: Hornblower During the Crisis) is a 1967 historical novel by C. S. Forester that forms part of the Horatio Hornblower series, and as a result of Forester's death in 1966, it was left unfinished. There is a one-page summary of the last several chapters of the book found on the final page, taken from notes left behind from the author. It was the eleventh and last book of the series to be published, but it is fourth in chronological sequence.

This book also includes two short-stories, "Hornblower and the Widow McCool" (a.k.a. "Hornblower’s Temptation"), set early in Hornblower's career, and "The Last Encounter", set in 1848 when he is living on his country estate in old age and retirement.


Login or Register to post a comment